Love Languages: How to Express Love

Ah, February. Let’s stop and smell the roses.



Alright, I’m kidding. (I think.)

As far as February is concerned, it’s the month of Love. Storefronts are decked out with heart and chocolates, targeted ads are all about hot singles near you, cheesy romance movies are flooding theatres – there really is no escape when it comes to the celebration of love.

This Valentine’s Day, let’s talk Love Languages. It’s a concept most of us are familiar with, the idea that each individual has their means of expressing and appreciating love. Before we go on, take this quiz to find out what your love language is!


But is it really just about finding out what your love language is?




Short answer: No.

Long answer: 

Knowing your Love Language is useful, but it’d be even more helpful knowing the love languages of those around you. Understanding and communicating the similarities and differences between yours and others’ needs are key to a happy, healthy relationship. 

Send our quiz to your friends and family – or read on to learn more about how to express love in all five different love languages.  





Expressing Love in all Five Love Languages

Words of Affirmation

Encourage and acknowledge them with spoken and written affirmations. An unexpected check-in text or a heartfelt handwritten note goes miles in your favour. 

Actionable Tips:

  • Communicating throughout the day
  • Giving genuine compliments and encouragement
  • Listening actively during conversations
  • Appreciating and recognising their efforts

Gifting Tips: Silver You’ve Got This in Persian and Rose Gold Faith in Natural.

Reminders to encourage and convey support are the way to go, especially with expressions that make them feel understood and appreciated.


Quality Time

Specifically set time aside to spend with them. Being present and giving them your undivided attention is the cornerstone of conveying love and affection.

Actionable Tips:

  • Suggesting activities both individuals are genuinely interested in
  • Keeping distractions away during conversations
  • Listening and sympathising over providing advice
  • Understanding and cultivating comfortable silence when together

Gifting Tips: Gold Heart in Sangria and The Mindful Frame.

Reminders to show them that you’re here whenever they need you to be, and a frame to hold your favourite adventures and memories.


Acts of Service

Take burdens and responsibilities away from them. Helping out, pampering them, and going out of your way to show them that they’re on your mind.

Actionable Tips:

  • Doing the chores and helping out with errands
  • Keeping to your word and following through with promises
  • Having initiative in things like deciding where to eat or what to buy
  • Incorporate habits that elevates their day-to-day lives

Gifting Tips: Rose Gold Gratitude in Pewter and a Gift Card.

Reminders to thank them too for their acts of service, and a gift card – give them the freedom of choice.



Physical Touch

It’s about as straightforward as is. Hugs, pats on the back, and general physical intimacy grounds them in the relationship. 

Actionable Tips:

  • Showing affection through hugs and touch
  • Cuddling and sitting close when together
  • Expressing affection through non-verbal cues like hand-holding
  • Understanding the desire for affection

Gifting Tips: Rose Gold Vermeil Bar Necklace

Reminders to keep them close to your heart, to hold onto warmth, and maybe give them a hug the next time you see them.


Receiving Gifts

Gifts are tangible symbols of love. Big or small, it doesn’t really matter – it’s the thought behind it that counts. 

Actionable Tips:

  • Buying (or making!) gifts that mean something
  • Ensuring that the item has value to it and it will be recognised
  • Gifting something that shows you were thinking of them even when you were apart
  • Remembering anniversaries and special occasions

Gifting Tips: I AM Collection

Reminders engraved with a word or a phrase that means something to the both of you, an inside joke or a special date – a gift made unique.


And with that, you now know how to express love in all five love languages. If you haven't already, take our quiz and send this article to your friends – and let me know if any of these tips helped you out today. 

Til' we meet again.





Sources: [1] [2] [3

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published